So in love.
Jul. 3rd, 2005 10:25 pm*sigh* It's so sad. I go around reading what everyone said on the OTP meme and they all wrote dissertations and I'm all... er, I love SyVa! Because! WHEE!
Today I finished Moonlighting. Well, I kinda skipped five episodes along the way ('Brother, Can You Spare a Blonde?' 'The Bride of Tupperman,' 'North by North Dipesto,' 'In God We Strongly Suspect' and 'Every Daughter's Father is a Virgin') but I had to get to 'Witness For an Execution' somehow! Anyway. I remembered the last episodes so well it freaked me out. And from four years ago, too. But David talking about the pointlessness of flowery lace on bras? Oh my GOD, I remember going bra shopping with my mother and saying that about ten hundred times. And the Whoopi episode? My sister and I went around singing 'Devil with a blue dress' for weeks and weeks. So I really enjoyed it.
Then I watched 'Blow,' the movie about drugs and Johnny Depp and Penélope. That was fun. I think the best part of the movie was Penélope when she was wasted, because she would get soooo wasted and just freak out and it was absolutely great. And Franka Potente was in it! That was fun. I felt really sad for poor George, though. Especially when we heard at the end that his daughter had never visited him. Because it's very sad.
I'm leaving on Tuesday (!) and I really don't want to, and I have a whole lot to do. Mostly involving me cleaning and me packing, both of which I lack the inclination to do.
So, I think I'll ramble about ships, since I'm not under any pressure.
- Christian and Satine
I don't need you anymore! All my life you made believe I was only worth what someone would pay for me! But Christian loves me. He loves me, Harold! He loves me. And that is worth everything! -Satine
So, when I was in seventh grade, I started hearing about this movie called 'Moulin Rouge.' I first heard about it when they were playing 'Romeo + Juliet' on TV, because Nic Kidman did a special on it, talking about the making of it.
Honest to god. I was hooked the minute I saw that special.
I saw 'Moulin Rouge' opening weekend, after reading the review. See, in the review, the reviewer started the sentence with the name "Satine." I was so involved with trying to figure out how to pronounce Satine- Satin? Sateen? Say-tine? Sah-teen?- that I totally failed to read the rest of the sentence. And I mean that. COMPLETELY DID NOT READ.
So when, in the first five minutes of the movie, Christian said "The woman I love is dead," I literally burst into tears. The HELL? She's DEAD? HOW CAN THEY HAVE A LOVE STORY IF SHE'S DEAD THIS IS NOT TITANIC!
Well, yeah. They could. And they did.
The whole idea was beautiful- a misunderstanding, miscommunication, and then love... love overcoming all obstacles! A love that will last forever! HOLD ME, CHRISTIAN!
Anyway. Christian was all naive and young and in love and oh, so very beautiful. And Satine was also gorgeous, but she was jaded and a courtesan and she was supposed to belong to the Duke! But they couldn't hide from their love. And love they did. For a whole two hours they loved and sang and prepared for a play... and then Satine was dying. DYING, the whole time. Consumption, you know. Coughing, in my opinion, never bodes well for anyone in movies.
And then Satine had to push Christian away to save him, and he was so very devastated, and it was so beautiful. Because Satine was on death's door and she was pushing Christian away. Horrible? Yes. Dramatic? Of course. Star-crossed lovers are everyone's favorite thing.
And then she died, and it was awful, but he commemorated her and wrote their novel and HIS HEART DID GO ON.
This was the fandom where I met
dollsome ,
xcoquette , and
nova25 , and
cryssa , by extension. (love you, cryssa!)
- 4. Han and Leia
Leia: Why, you stuck up, half-witted, scruffy-looking nerf-herder.
Han: Who's scruffy-looking?

When I was in second grade, my Mom took me to see 'A New Hope' in the theatres. There, we ran into Tata and Melba! That was great. So we saw the first one together.
Neither of us were very impressed.
For one thing, everything was all space-y and violent (a love I didn't culture until later) and, and... THE BROWN-HAIRED MAN WAS MEAN TO THE PRINCESS AND I DIDN'T LIKE HIM.
I didn't like Han, okay! I ADMIT IT! He was snarky to the Princess! I couldn't stand for that!
When 'The Phantom Menace' (god help us all) came out, Ma rented it for us when it came out on video. Mmm, Ewan was in it! And Liam Neeson! And little Natalie Portman, bless her little heart. Still, I was not too impressed by the Star Wars empire.
When "Attack of the Clones" came out, I was more into just seeing Hayden Christensen. I LOVE HAYDEN. I have since I was in sixth grade and Higher Ground was on TV. He was Scott. I loved Scott. So, I go to see AOTC with Becca.
I. Loved. Ani. And. Padmé.
I mean, more than I can say. The love was less for what they were than for what they could be, but nevertheless. My love for Star Wars? Present and accounted for.
That winter, I started reading "By the Grace of Lady Vader" at the recommendation of Milla. That fic focused on Ani and Padmé, kinda, as Vader, and they also had entire sections dedicated to Han and Leia. I read that, and the sequel, "Ascension of the Queen."
"Lord almighty!" I exclaimed, sitting at Amelia's computer in Gainesville, "I need to see the original Star Wars!"
We went home for New Years. I watched "A New Hope" on New Years Eve and was hooked. The brown-haired man? He wasn't mean, he was WONDERFUL. And Luke was annoying and blond and farmy! The love for Leia grew. Then I saw "The Empire Strikes Back" and then "Return of the Jedi" and forget it. I read fanfic. I lurked all over. I joined the JC.
Han and Leia were like, a kindler, gentler version of Ares and Xena. And they got together for real, which ROCKED ON. They bantered. They teased. He was the cocky, arrogant, sonofabitch Captain who had no loyalties to nobody and a debt to pay. She was the determined Princess who had had her planet blown up for being cocky. Her life was the Rebellion. He was all, they pimp my ride, bitch. Only reason I'm here.
But he loved her. And he was really cute about it. Even when she was a brat. Which she was. (She thought she liked nice men. She was wrong.)
He went back to rescue her. She rescued him. He protected her on Endor and they were just... gom, they were so cute!
At the JC, I met, mainly, Nica. Then Nica got recruited to the Handmaidens. I joined soon after.
Through Star Wars I met:
puggywuggy ,
non_horation ,
thepodsquad ,
orci505 ,
bel_baggins ,
carrole ,
drthbunnysliprs ,
emmi_girl ,
jediowl ,
lady_suzuran ,
miana_dude ,
miss_rina ,
moonsofiego ,
ravenclaw_devi ,
shads2092 ,
sorachang ,
swirlycurlzz ,
teaghlach ,
uscathena ,
vader_incarnate ,
xaara ,
yubsie
- 3. David and Maddie
David: What about this banquet? I don't want to go.
Maddie: We're going. It's very important.
David: Important for what? Okay, it will give us a chance to fight in public, but what else?
Maddie: I wouldn't want you losing any more sleep over me.
David: Believe me, if and when I ever find myself over you, the last thing I'll be thinking about is sleeping.

Summer before freshman year, I was in summer school for PE. It was hot. It was excruciating. I hated it.
"Madi!" Mom exclaimed one day, "You really need to watch 'Moonlighting' with me. I was my favorite show in the 80s. Everyone thought I named you after Maddie Hayes. You're really going to love it."
Okay. For the record? I did not want to watch some boring 80s comedy called 'Moonlighting.' Who had ever heard of Moonlilghting, anyway?
The first episode I ever saw was "The Dream Sequence Always Rings Twice." And once I saw that, I was hooked. I lurked on davidandmaddie.com. I watched the show every afternoon. When school started, I had Mom record it for me. I watched it religiously.
Mysteriously, not far into September, Bravo dropped 'Moonlighting.' The show wasn't on DVD. We bought the pilot on tape, but I had no way of seeing Moonlighting for years, though my family and I quoted it religiously.
Finally, this May, Seasons One and Two were released on DVD. I was finally able to relive the episodes I had seen so long ago!
David and Maddie are very much like Han and Leia, which is just... amazing. They bantered. They didn't want to work together. They couldn't POSSIBLY work together. They were too different! He was too wild, too crazy, too unorthodox, too much fun! She was too classic, too boring, too by-the-books, too goddamn honest! And gorgeous. Oh, is Maddie beautiful.
But David, like Han, means well, and has a heart of gold. And he loves Maddie to death. And Maddie, in spite of her frigidness, loves David. And they kinda solve cases. The funnest part is the way they run around holding hands. Or David shoving her down to protect her. Or Maddie holding his arm and cringing into him. They are just too, too cute.
- 2. Jack and Irina
There were times when the illusion of our marriage was as powerful for me as it was for you. - Irina

When I first started watching Alias, it was because of Nica. Nica, you see, hates Irina. I have to say I find this more bewildering than my hatred of Eric Weiss. But we'll put that to the side.
Anyway, based on Nica's recommendation, I was prepared to Haaaaaate Irina. I loved Daddy beyond all reason anyway, but Irina? Bitch betrayed Daddy and left them and was all Eeeeevil. She was the Devil. Must not like her.
... I did.
It took me a long time to accept J/I, though. I can't remember why I was so against it.
Because they are just so beautiful.
There's every reason for them to have nothing but hate hate hate between them. Because they're kinda enemies, and she betrayed him, and he framed her and then "killed" her and yeah, there's a long, long, not-so-pretty history between them.
But it's all love, people. And betrayal and separation can't stop true love.
And true love it is, no matter which you slice it. The two are a perfect match. Their loyalty lies, above everything, in their baby's best interest. They're a match intellectually. The only thing that they love more than each other is their baby (or, in Irina's case, babies.) And they both know it. The love is there. Complex and twisted as it all is... the love is there.
(A big part of this love is based on the AMAZING chemistry between Victor Garber and Lena Olin. They are unparalleled. The only two actors that have more chemistry then them are Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie. That's it.)
Now, if only Lena would stay home...
- 1. Syd and Vaughn.
After you died, I used to talk to you... like you were still around. Literally, outloud, whole conversations about... about nothing. The weather. Should I get a new car? Should I have another drink? Then one day, you started answering. I mean, I could hear you in my head... like you were right next to me, Sydney. And although rationally I knew I was a guy who... stayed up nights drinking... talking to his dead girlfriend... still, I couldn't stop. So, before you tell me you can handle me coming back to the CIA, there are two things you need to know. First... is that I was so in love with you... it nearly killed me. - Vaughn

Okay. For all of you who know me, you know that my love for SyVa is unparalleled. I love them like I love no other. Through thick and thin, they are my OTP of life.
I can't really explain why I love them. First, they had whole bitchy!Syd bantery thing going on. It was Syd against the World and everyone and everything was her enemy. Slowly but surely, Vaughn became her ally, and Syd accepted this, as he accepted her, surly demeanor and all. Nica and I have always noticed that the men in the ships we like usually love the woman more, and it's true. Vaughn loves Syd about a hundred times more than she loves him. She loves him tons and bunches, of course, but Vaughn loves her forever and a day, much like Daddy and his wife.
The UST-ness of a season and a half did wonders for their relationship- slowly, quietly developing in the unlikely circumstances they were stuck in- the Subbasement of Dreams and Desires, dead-drops, bedroom voices over comms, furtive glances and whispers.
When they finally were together, they were just as darling and as sweet as we could've hoped- they played hockey and were playful and flirty and just so cute you wanted to eat them up. They were SyVa, they were invincible.
And then Syd died. Vaughn dropped off the face of the earth and nearly drank himself to death, and then he sobered up. He met Lauren, who straightened him out and he loved. Honest to god, he did. Not like Syd, but it was enough. Syd was his soulmate, but she was dead, so there was Lauren. It was all good.
Syd, on the other hand, became Julia. She once saw Vaughn and Lauren... and then she went back, as a double for the Covenant and the CIA. She met up with Simon (GOM, which I forgot to put in my Runners-Up! HOW STUPID AM I?) and it was gorgeous.
Then Syd came back, and her memories were shot, and her Daddy was in prison, but Vaughn came to rescue her, in the safehouse. And that scene, when he goes to her, unsure if it's really Syd, and she just goes and snuggles into him, because she's scared and not sure why she's there or what's happened, and he just suddenly melts into her because oh my god, it's Syd... it was so beautiful.
They both tried to be apart. They did. They still loved each other, but Vaughn was married. It was over.
But death cannot stop true love, it can only delay it for a while. And SyVa... well, they kept the home fires burning in spite of themselves. And suddenly Lauren was the cheap and evil girl, and she ran off with Sark, which gave Vaughn free license to be with Syd!
Season Four was kinda strange. SyVa was still feeling each other up, if you will, not quite sure where they stood. And when they were good, they were very very good.
Now, the finale of Season Four left some doubt as to the validity of Michael Vaughn's identity... but not his love for Syd. At least not to me, anyway. Irina knew what he was doing, and if it was bad, she would've killed him. Her and Daddy both, mowed his ass down and not batted an eye. Syd and Vaughn are soulmates forever and ever, and that's all there is to it.
Runners-up
Dana and Mulder
Dana: I called him Ahab and he called me Starbuck. So I named my dog Queequeg. It's funny, I just realised something.
Mulder: It's a bizarre name for a dog, huh?
Dana: No. How much you're like Ahab. You're so... consumed by your personal vengeance against life, whether it be its inherent cruelties or its mysteries, that everything takes on a warped significance to your megalomaniacal cosmology.
Mulder: Scully, are you coming on to me?

I did not want to watch The X-Files. I felt there was not enough love in my heart to love Alias so much and love anything else. But it's possible, my friends. Nica made it possible.
I now love XF. I love the cases, I love the silliness, I love the grossness, and above all, I love the Dana. I love the Mulder, of course, but I love Dana above all.
The best thing about Dana and Mulder is that, like SyVa, David and Maddie, and Han and Leia, is that they were friends first and foremost. They're partners. There's an inherent trust between them that's sprung from going on a million and one wild adventures and crazy things. They are the only two who know what it's like to do such crazy things. They balance one another out, make their working environment a pleasant experience.
It's true love, yo.
Cesar y Nadia
Cesar: I’m stronger than you.
Nadia: I’m faster.
Cesar: I’m bigger
Nadia: I’m smarter.
Cesar: I’m prettier. Give me a kiss … and I’ll let you go.

Cesar and Nadia were only together in one episode, but you know they were together for a while in Argentina. She and Cesar were a team, the Bonnie and Clyde of the Buenos Aires barrio.
She was his girl. When she killed Roberto Fox and ran off, everyone assumed it was Cesar, because everyone knew Roberto had his eye on pretty young thing Nadia, and she was Cesar's. Cesar was just protecting his girl.
But Cesar missed her. She ran off without a word, and yet he checked everyday their contact protocols, just in case they were ever in trouble. When they met up for the first time in years, Cesar's voice was all wonderment and love and yes, he had missed her ever so. Even though he knew the truth about her killing his mentor, he still loved Nadia.
Sure, he wanted to kill her. But Daddy's tried to kill Mommy, and Dana and Mulder shot at one another in the Christmas episode, and Syd shot at Vaughn... it's a growth thing, okay?
no subject
Date: 2005-07-03 09:03 pm (UTC)And not liking Han is completely understandable. As I said, not everyone is as naturally drawn to assholes as I happen to be.
no subject
Date: 2005-07-03 10:55 pm (UTC)And, eee, I love reading people's ship-gushing. Almost as much as I love gushing, myself. :)
no subject
Date: 2005-07-04 05:51 am (UTC)Blasphemy! Blasphemy!
no subject
Date: 2005-07-04 10:35 am (UTC)Mercy! Mercy!
no subject
Date: 2005-07-06 12:01 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-08-01 12:36 am (UTC)Madi! Stoppit! If there's anything that makes me happier than being tagged, it's getting a shoutout. I love you, too. And now I am vowing to talk to you via some sort of messenger because you're such a doll. Do you have MSN or I do have to drag my lazy self onto AIM?
no subject
Date: 2005-08-03 09:56 pm (UTC)