sunshine_queen: Tricia being fierce, as always. (SpySisters- mag- litmusfolie)
[personal profile] sunshine_queen
Let me just say, people have always recommended '24' to me, but I was always kind of confused by the premise. Each episode is literally an hour of a day? And each season is one full day? And then... we... jump? Or something? I'm not sure I have it right, but suffice it to say, I didn't really care.

But oh, do I ever care about the commercials they've been airing. What is it that happened to Kiefer Sutherland? Why is he all solitary!Jackified? Why are things exploding? Why do I care?

Why indeed.

In other news, AOL parenting, you are wrong. Well-intentioned, but so very, very wrong. No parent who wants to name their kid "Ashley" is going to think "Astrid" is a cool alternative. AND BARNABY IS NEVER GOING TO BE NOT STUPID. NEVER! OMG.

Sure, you have a good idea with replacing Anastasia for Alexandra- even though they're both two of my favorite names, but Maisie for Madison? Kai for Kyle? Dude. And then their justification for "Delilah" is pretty good: Overlook its questionable past -- as Samson's seductress and Chuck Berry's heartbreaker -- and the name has an intrinsic beauty that cannot be ignored. Sure, most people don't go around getting Biblical insults hurled at them (or hurling them, I assume) but hee.

I needed to go to the infirmary today, but in my extreme wisdom and foresight, I forgot. It was open from 12-4, and I remembered at 3:56. Great job, Madi. I don't know if they'll be open tomorrow. So, I have to do that and turn in my very first job application. And maybe finish Firefly, which just makes me sad. I love pretty much everyone. Except River. And Jayne. And Simon. And Book. And I really need to stop saying things like that when they're obviously lies. (But I really, really do love Mal and Kaylee and Inara and ZOE AND WASH OMG.) I need icons.

I also need to read about ten more pages in one book, and at least twenty in my other one for comparative politics. Meh. Uni would be much more fun without classes.

Date: 2007-01-14 10:13 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] allthingsholy.livejournal.com
See, I love EVERYONE on "Firefly" with a sickening passion, except Inara. She's my least favorite, but slowly growing on me the more I rewatch, which I do, frequently, because it's maybe me favorite television show ever.

And how can you not love Simon and River? Seriously. And JAYNE. AND BOOK!! Oh, they're all so great. So much love.

And I'm determined to watch "24" some day when it's no longer on the air and I can power-marathon the DVDs. It's a plan I have.

Date: 2007-01-14 10:44 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sunshine-queen.livejournal.com
It's not that I don't like Simon, it's that I don't love him. Or Jayne. Or Book. I like them all. Just not like the rest. And River just drives me bonkers. I get it, she's crazy because of the Alliance, but I have a low tolerance for craziness, obviously.

Date: 2007-01-14 10:18 pm (UTC)
yubsie: (Zoe/Wash snuggle)
From: [personal profile] yubsie
I genuinely adore everyone except Jayne. Wash is... WASH! And Zoe is just SO FREAKING COOL! ANd Zoe/Wash OTP D*MN YOU TESS! And Kaylee is so much adorable!

Date: 2007-01-14 10:44 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sunshine-queen.livejournal.com
Seriously, Tess killed the cutest ship ever.

Date: 2007-01-14 10:57 pm (UTC)
yubsie: (Default)
From: [personal profile] yubsie
I know! They're just so utterly ADORABLE! Cuteness should be PRESERVED! They turn me into such a PATHETIC PILE OF SQUEE!

Date: 2007-01-15 05:40 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] xenaamber.livejournal.com
I have never heard an American refer to college as "uni" before. That made me happy -- it's what we say in the UK. :D

Eee, jobs. What are you applying to do?

Btw, I vaguely remember sending you some songs I downloaded from iTunes once -- I had to do weird shit with it to make my dad's iPod work (don't ask), and it might start bitching at you to reauthorise your computer to play those songs. If it does, let me know and I'll tell you what to type. :D If not, ignore this whole thing and rejoice!

Date: 2007-01-15 06:24 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sunshine-queen.livejournal.com
I haven't been authorized to play your songs in forever! I just didn't question it.

I alternate between uni and college. College comes out easier.

And, um, it's a job at the university bookstore. We'll see.

Date: 2007-01-15 04:58 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] xenaamber.livejournal.com
Really? How odd. *pause* Actually... I just thought, is it since you got your laptop? Because you have to authorise each separate computer. I'll send you my account and password so hopefully you can hear the songs.

College is more natural for me too, now I've been here so long. But when I speak to Brits (or Australians) I say uni a lot more often.

Good luck with the job!

Profile

sunshine_queen: Tricia being fierce, as always. (Default)
sunshine_queen

March 2020

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
2223 2425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags