sunshine_queen: Tricia being fierce, as always. (Oz- gasp- elena_hepburn)
[personal profile] sunshine_queen
So, apparently I'm allergic or having a bad reaction to an antibiotic I've been taking for a week because I am so dizzy I couldn't go to class today. I started feeling a bit weird on Monday, but I chalked that up to tiredness. Yesterday at lunch was when I started feeling dizzy, but Melissa validly pointed out that I hadn't eaten yet, so I thought that would cure it. When that didn't, after walking light-headedly across campus, I went home and took a nap, expecting that to cure it. Totally didn't. Between me and my mom, we figured out that my minocycline was the most likely culprit, and it is indeed one of the side effects. Of course, other people have had incredibly horrible things happen to them after taking this drug (rashes that last for months, joint issues, SYMPTOMS THAT CAN BE CONFUSED FOR LUPUS, NEAR BLINDNESS DUE TO INFLAMMATION OF THE OPTIC NERVE!!!!!) so I am totally off it. I thought, oh, I'll feel better in the morning.

Instead, I wake up and lying still, in bed, I feel dizzy. I could probably walk across campus without incident, but sitting up in classes for four hours today is just out of the question. (Which is lame and stupid and ARG FUCKING DRUG.)

Sooo that's what's going on with me.

Date: 2009-01-15 05:02 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] yahtzee63.livejournal.com
You could be having an attack of vertigo, or you could possibly have an inner ear infection. If you can make it to the student health center, go; ear infections can get really nasty.

Date: 2009-01-15 05:27 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sunshine-queen.livejournal.com
I considered both of those, especially the inner ear infection, but nothing feels wrong with my ears at all. No pain, no trouble swallowing. And i read that vertigo gives you trouble with balance, so I when told my mother about it, she had me try standing on one foot, which I did with as much skill as I've ever had. If I still feel like this I'll definitely brave the ineptitude of the student health center tomorrow, because this is no fun.

Date: 2009-01-15 08:35 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] xenaamber.livejournal.com
Yikes, be careful! If your student health is anything like ours, they might not help (here they diagnose everything as either mono or pregnancy) -- but they might get you to a real doctor if you don't feel better once you're off the drug.

Also, I feel your pain re FREEZING COLD... I'd give a lot for it to be 50 here right now!

Profile

sunshine_queen: Tricia being fierce, as always. (Default)
sunshine_queen

March 2020

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
2223 2425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags