I'll get you, my pretty...
Jul. 22nd, 2005 12:19 amYeah, I'm doing this meme a thousand years late because of my being in NY, and I'm not bothering to tag anyone 'cause everyone's done it. So, rock on, my friends.
And a HUGE, ENORMOUS thank you to the darling, wonderful and talented
thepodsquad for making all my pretty little pictures. I love you!
Done in alternate order, from least to greatest attractiveness.
Name 10 celebrities that you find attractive and then tag 5 of your friends.

I have loved Victor Garber ever since I saw him in Titanic waaaay back in February '98. He was Mr. Andrews. He was nice to Jack. In short? MR. ANDREWS OWNED.
Then came the ads for Alias. "Hey," thought I, "What's Mr. Andrews doing with a gun?"
Now it's not "Why does Mr. Andrews have a gun." Now it's, "Why is SpyDaddy on the Titanic?"
He's a distinguished man, nice-looking and regal. And his presence. I mean, dude. He just screams "Upper-Crust Educated Mature Male." Sure, he could kill you without a second thought. But he could also... say, take you to the opera. To the ballet. To a concert of chamber music. He's the kind of man that owns a compound, seven cars and a yacht and would mildly refer to it as his "home" and his "cars" and his "boat," because he's just that cool.
I think I just appreciate the educated thing, as well as the mature thing. And definitely the protective thing. Because I'd love for him to be my SpyDaddy. Or Sugar Daddy.

Natalie Portman is just one of those stunningly pretty girls who grabs your attention and holds it. She's got dark, soulful eyes and a gorgeous complexion. She can be either light and airy (see "Garden State") or destroyed (see "Closer"). She can make a decent movie worth seeing again ("Closer") and a... laughable movie worth watching just for shippiness ("Attack of the Clones.")
She's definitely a thinking beauty- the girl can speak at least three languages and graduated from Harvard with a degree in Psychology.
She's like a barbie- you can dress her up and take her out in grown-up movies, or she can shine just the same in movies of merit with a eccentric character. ROCK ON, NAT!

Hayden is The Pretty.
I fell in love with The Pretty when I was in sixth grade and I found this show about dysfunctional teens. "Oh my," said my eleven-year-old-self, "That boy is mighty delicious." And so I watched about Scott and Shelby.
I still have the original clipping from the herald when they announced they were casting him as Anakin in "Attack of the Clones." I was thrilled. My darling on the big screen.
Okay. So he wasn't the most brilliant actor on the planet. He wasn't even the most brilliant actor in the movie. But he sure was gorgeous. And with dialogue along the lines of, "Sand is rough but you are smooth," he did lend a certain brooding teenager-dom to Anakin Skywalker.
And? He is The Pretty.

Angelina Jolie has an amazing beauty to her. She's the kind of pretty that you can dress up and put in a classic setting and she totally looks like she belongs. Then you can strip her down to a black spy gear and give her massive guns and knives and it's still like, "Whoa! The chick is lethal! But dayum is she hot!"
And that's the beauty of Angelina. She may be crazy and have a bunch of tattoos and once wore a vial of her husband's blood around her neck, but dammit it all if she isn't just one of the most beautiful little girls of all time.
And? She probably bites to draw blood. So just be careful.

I cannot really explain the depth of my love for Leonardo DiCaprio. Even if he wasn't still one of the most beautiful men on the planet, I would still have an enormous soft spot in my heart for him because I ADORED HIM MORE THAN ANYONE ON THE PLANET for about three years. Until Moulin Rouge came out. But that's another story altogether.
Leo is exactly my type. He's got light eyes. He's blonde. He's tall. He's drop-dead gorgeous. In any role- as a run-away who winds up living with the Seavers for a season, as a star-crossed boy who kills himself for his love of three days, as a poor boy who sacrifices his life for his love after three days... hm, three days- as a conman who ROCKS ON and who employs the nubile young body of ONE MISS JENNIFER GARNER (as seen above,) and as a really crazy and really brilliant guy who did a lot of stuff before getting super looney. He's believable in every role he's cast in because he's really good.
And? He's really beautiful. TAKE ME, LEO.

I have really no words to express my love for Mia Maestro. She's just so unbelievably gorgeous. As a street kid, as a killer, on a missioning in spygear, missioning all dolled up- she is always gorgeous. She has a very luminous quality to her, and... and she really is hard to talk about. She is just so pretty.
I loved her as Chichina, where she practically glowed, and as Marianela, where she was both radiant and beautifully melancholy, and as mi preciousita tan linda Nadia, and as Crazy!Nadia. Because she is absolutely dangerous. Really. You mess with her and she will shoot you until she runs out of bullets. She is pure Derevko that way.
But she's so darling you can forgive her.

Michael Vartan is just... absolutely beautiful. My type. Loyal. Courageous. By-the-book. And, dear heavenly father, he's French. He even speaks French. And other languages. And all of them beautifully.
I'll admit, a lot of his appeal comes from him being Michael Vaughn. Sure, Michael Vaughn might be a liar and not really who he says he is and might be Milo Rambaldi the 470th, or a plant, or a double, or Lord knows what else... but he is a wonderful, loving man who adores Sydney and does what's best for her and breaks into the Vatican with her and dances with her in train stations and who loves her endlessly.
And dude. A guy who dances with you in train stations. With no music. Because you said he's never taken you dancing.
... There are no words.

It pains me to put Jen as my second prettiest. But anyway.
I remember the first time I consciously saw Miss Garner. It was at the Academy Awards, and she was wearing this light blue dress and she presented an award with Mickey Mouse. And my mom was saying that that was the girl from that Alias show where they're always running down hallways (so said Regis and Kelly) and isn't she pretty. And indeed, she was.
Jen's absolutely adorable. She's the girl next door with dimples and freckles and wavy hair and a grin that just lights up a room. And then you dress her up and... it's amazing. Like, there is no more girl next door. She's suddenly this amazingly beautiful woman. And she can be an amazingly beautiful woman with blonde hair, or red hair, or black hair, or blue, with curly or straight, short or long, pinned up or left down. She can wear ornate dressed or skimpy dresses and she's uniformly beautiful with maybe one or two unfortunate events.
She's very beautiful- but in a very friendly, approachable manner. You want to go hang out at her house and paint your nails together and watch chick flicks and eat Ben and Jerry's and giggle over guys. You want her to call you up when some guy breaks her heart so you can go over and give her hugs while she cries (which she does very, very well, we found out) and then listen to her bitch about him.
Jen? Call me.

I have long since decided Brad Pitt is the most perfect specimen of maleness on the face of the planet. Allow me to give you some visuals- he's six feet of tanned, muscular perfection, topped with a brilliant grin of perfect pearly whites, blindingly blue eyes and blond hair. He's beautiful. He's funny. He's romantic.
He's no longer married to Jen Aniston. I will not give my comments on their union, because of Nica's feelings for Ms. Aniston.
But now he's with Angelina. And Angelina could kill you. Me. Angelina could kill me.
And so, I humbly allow him to be yours, Angelina. You're the most beautiful couple in the history of coupledom. I want you to have BABIES. Because your babies would be the most aesthetically blessed creatures ever to grace this earth of ours.

Lena Olin is by far the most dangerous person on this list.
Dangerous in terms of hurting you with beauty.
She's old. I mean, really. She's forty-nine years old, for god's sake, and she is insanely fit and gorgeous.
And she's gorgeous in every movie she's ever been in. As a working-class mother of five in "Polish Wedding," as an assassin in "Romeo is Bleeding," as an abused kleptomaniac in "Chocolat," as a psychologist to Richard gere in "Mr. Jones" as... god, I can't remember what she was, other than pretty and with Robert Redford, in "Havana," as a psychic girlfriend to Harrison Ford in "Hollywood Homicide," as the haunted Masha in "Enemies, a love story-" she always outshines everyone else in the movie. It's more than her appearance, it's her presence. She's very queenly and acts as though she is very subtly above everything- but in the best way possible.
She becomes every role she's in.
And that includes what is my favorite role of Lena's- not a movie, but a television show. When she played Irina Derevko.
I would not want to be Irina Derevko's daughter, or her enemy. But is she the most amazingly complex/beautiful woman ever to grace television?
Absolutely.
no subject
Date: 2005-07-21 09:26 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-07-21 09:31 pm (UTC)And the graphics were beyond no problem...once I got off my lazy butt and made them. ;)
But seriously, ditto to like all your people!
no subject
Date: 2005-07-21 10:10 pm (UTC)Hehehee!
Pretty, pretty list. (Oh, Lena.) And if TomKat didn't exist, Brad/Angelina would so be my celebrity OTP. But, well, TomKat's got the crazy and the potential brainwashing. That's hard to beat, even if you are the most attractive couple on the face of the planet.