sunshine_queen: Tricia being fierce, as always. (SyVa- silhouettes- catty_laughs)
[personal profile] sunshine_queen

Today I saw "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory," which was absolutely amazing, with my mom and sister. Johnny Depp is just... I mean, he's brilliant. And we had a fantastic time watching it.

Then I came home and talked to Nica for about six hours on the phone. We watched four episodes of the X-Files, and then my mom was on the computer, so we stayed on the phone. We say the randomest things. I love that girl to death. I can't WAIT to see her next week!

And now, the Top Five Kisses Meme, snagged from [livejournal.com profile] allthingsholy

 

 

5. Dana and Mulder- 8.21 "Existence"

Who doesn't love Dana and Mulder? I mean, honestly. They're adorable. They don't kiss for five hundred seasons. They don't have sex for a million seasons. But then they kissed.

And then there was "my baby's daddy" kiss.

It shows that Dana and Mulder are lovers, and they'll wait for one another, and someday they'll get married and Dana'll have a pretty gold ring to match her pretty gold cross, she just has to be patient.

And awwww. Look at 'em.

 

4. Han and Leia- The Empire Strikes Back

Han and Leia. They define UST. They were all bickery and bantery and adorable, and then suddenly Han softened up and called her Leia, and she though she insisted she liked nice men- come on. Han's a nice man.

This kiss changed everything. It made Leia proclaim her love as Han was being frozen; it paved the way for forehead and cheek kisses and hand-holding.

So there, Jedi boy brother! Three cheers for the scoundrels!

 

3. Alicia and Devlin- Notorious

The kiss in Notorious is actually famous. At the time, it was the longest kiss. The censoring system of the forties allowed kisses to be no longer than three seconds, and to all be closed-mouthed. Hitchcock went around this by making sure the kisses were only a few seconds long- and having them talk quietly, nuzzle, and kiss at other places without ever breaking their embrace. It was a scandal, but no one could do anything.

As a movie piece, it's amazing. It's the first time Dev and Alicia- who are a more fucked-up version of Jack and Irina, if you can believe it- actually are being nice to one another. It lasts about... oh, I don't know, ten minutes, max, but the love is there and real and hidden under all the mean cattiness and nastiness.

Oh, the UST. It glimmers. It gleams.

 

2. Jack and Irina- 2.17 "A Dark Turn"

It's their first kiss in almost thirty years. And yeah, between them there's deceit, and betrayal, and nasty lies, and distrust- but there's love, and, lord almighty! The UST! When Jack says they need to get to bed, and Irina says they do... the screen, it burns. Lena Olin and Victor Garber have chemistry like whoa, but that one exchange, and their one kiss of the season, before their inevitable pre-betrayal (redux) roll in the hay? It. Is. Gorgeous.

... I'm rendered speechless by it.

 

1. Syd and Vaughn- 2.13 "Phase One"

It's... it's the culmination of a season and half of tension. The bad guys are vanquished! The danger, dimished! The lies, kaput! It's the first day of the rest of their lives!

And they just... they look at one another across the room, and the most brilliant description I've heard of it comes from Greg Grunberg, who said on the commentary that it's like they're Tony and Maria, and everything else gets all blurry and the only thing in focus is one another, and they're just magnetized and it's their first kiss.

And it's the kiss.

And it's everything their first kiss should be- it's long, it's beautiful, it's passionate, it's tender, it's sweet, it's dizzying.

It sure is a winner.

Date: 2005-07-27 10:23 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] agent-nica.livejournal.com
Awww, I love you to death, too! The phone thing today was a BLAST. Thank God for free long distance on your end. ;)

And you had BETTER VISIT ME! :D

Re: Teh Kisses

- You are like, one of the cutest Dana/Mulder shippers ever. Squee! I love Teh Baby's Daddy kiss. So wonderful. :D

- Han/Leia! THE FALCON KISS! That's definitely their best kiss. I love it! The UST just explodes.

- I loved Notorious! You got me to watch that when we first met. :P

- And eee, the "Phase Kiss" one IS *the kiss*. It was so perfect it terms of its timing/location. I squealed for like, five minutes straight when it finally happened, because I'd heard such great things about it. ;)

Date: 2005-07-27 11:27 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sunshine-queen.livejournal.com
It was.

I might not, now. As I hate you and all.

- Why am I cute?

- I know, it totally explodes. Like Alderaan.

- Good for me!

- I think I dropped to the floor and squealed forever.

Date: 2005-07-27 10:25 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dollsome.livejournal.com
I want to do this one, but lack Photoshop, and . . . and . . . Photoshop is necessary, darnit.

And, dude, more screwed up than the SpyRents? How? Explain. I find that a very bewildering notion.

Date: 2005-07-27 11:25 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sunshine-queen.livejournal.com
You NEED to stop whatever you're doing RIGHT NOW and get 'Notorious' out. There are really no words to describe just how much worse Alicia and Dev are.

Seriously. Get it.

Date: 2005-07-27 10:39 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] palmaceae.livejournal.com
Three cheers for the scoundrels!
amen! that was a great kiss! go han!!!

Date: 2005-07-27 11:25 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sunshine-queen.livejournal.com
He is awesome.

Date: 2005-07-27 11:21 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dollsome.livejournal.com
(Psst, and don't let Hannah brainwash you entirely. ;-D Buffy/Angel is very, very pretty, too. And one day I will dig up screencaps and quotes as evidence.)

Date: 2005-07-27 11:23 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sunshine-queen.livejournal.com
No. That one Spike quote, about saving Buffy? Forget it. I'm gone.

Date: 2005-07-28 05:10 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dollsome.livejournal.com
But it is entirely possible to like both! I promise.

Though of course, we all know that Riley was the true highlight of Ms. Summers' lovelife.

Date: 2005-07-27 11:39 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] thepodsquad.livejournal.com
Awwwww, Madi! SO CUTE! *giggles*

And the Mulder/Scully kiss is just sweet, Han/Leia rocks all, and well...SpyRents is GOM!

*sighs deeply* Oh, ships.

Date: 2005-07-28 09:34 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] xenaamber.livejournal.com
I am slightly obsessed with Charlie and the Chocolate Factory now. Seen it twice, can't get the damn songs out of my head. :D

Augustus Gloop, Augustus Gloop, the great big greedy nincompoop...

Profile

sunshine_queen: Tricia being fierce, as always. (Default)
sunshine_queen

March 2020

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
2223 2425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags