sunshine_queen: Tricia being fierce, as always. (SyVa- store- classical)
[personal profile] sunshine_queen
Tomorrow, weather permitting, Becky and I are going to the beach. I don't think I've been excited to go to the beach in years. Yay, Bec!

I watched 'Pride and Prejudice.' Oh. My. God.



I was seriously skeptical about this movie. I hold the miniseries and the original 1940 version in such high regard- and honestly, how difficult would it be to remake a movie and a story that is so loved and so well-known? (Although my mom says not as many people as I think know the story. WHO DOESN'T?) And while I like Keira Knightley, I'm not her biggest fan or anything. And I was kind of afraid.

... Oh. But oh. I was SO pleasantly surprised it's kind of astounding.

I loved Keira as Lizzie. She was so very Lizzie it astounded me. Jane was also perfect- somewhat maternal, pretty and not too bright but not stupid. Mary was prettier than I'd ever seen her but so, so boring and dull. Jena Malone as Lydia made me what to kill myself, but I hate Lydia with a passion, so that was good. And Kitty was annoying, but that's her character. Mr. Bingley DID look like a lost Weasley, and Caroline Bingley was badass. Nita, you were so right about wanting to play her. She was so sophisticated and pretty. Charlotte was played by a plain actress, which I don't remember ever seeing, but it wound up working SO well. Brenda Blethyn was amazing as the irritating mother, and I. Love. Donald. Sutherland. He was a fantastic Papa Bennet.

That said- let me now discuss Mr. Darcy.

*dies*

He was... he was so good. I had no idea how I'd feel about a Mr. Darcy that wasn't Sir Laurence Olivier or Colin Firth... but oh my god. He made Mr. Darcy all his own! And he had these amazing lovelorn looks- he did pain so well, and he did so much emoting, and his voice- oh! He was SO GOOD. And he humanized Mr. Darcy moreso than Olivier or Firth did. You could see traces of his pain in him but he still had to help Lizzie because! he! loved! her! (Also? He was amazingly SpyDaddy when he was in pain. Like, when he proposed to Lizzie the first time? It was like... he was trying so hard, but he just couldn't get the words to come out right, and he meant well but he was saying it wrong. Like, he was trying to convey just how much loving her meant to him- that he could overlook all the obstacles- but it came out so. poorly. BUT HE MEANT WELL!)

I noticed a lot of differences from the novel- mostly dialogue, or slight modernization- not in language, but just in the way things were done, and certain little sarcastic remarks- but they all belonged. Nothing was out of place or forced and I am SO GUSHING HERE because I LOVED IT.

I know I'm forgetting a lot of things I thought at the time or felt... but oh man. I am going to buy it very, very soon. Because it was amazing.

LOVE!

Date: 2006-03-18 04:16 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] thepodsquad.livejournal.com
The whole movie is just so beyond fantastic. And I love it so so so so so so so much. As much as I may love the BBC miniseries there is a special place inside of me that just ADORES this one beyond words. *squees*

Date: 2006-03-18 04:45 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sunshine-queen.livejournal.com
It is! I am so fangirly.

Date: 2006-03-18 04:32 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dollsome.livejournal.com
Eeeee, wasn't it so crazy gorgeous? I want to buy it so badly. I am trying to rationalize with myself, 'cause, ya know, I have no money, and kinda need money to survive but not in a way where I could ever possibly get a job, but . . . but . . . I need it.

Sooo pretty! I'm still not over it.

Date: 2006-03-18 04:46 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sunshine-queen.livejournal.com
It so was. I am definitely buying; I have giftcards.

I'm not over it either. Oh, the squee.

Date: 2006-03-18 08:15 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] miana-dude.livejournal.com
*SHAKES FIST AT WEATHER*

Finals end for me on Wednesday, then I work every night until the weekend. I was going to spend the days relaxing on the beach.

BUT THE WEATHER FORCAST CALLS FOR RAIN ALL WEEK.


Bastards.


Have fun!! :D


And yes, I was wary about this version, but I LOVE IT. OMG, I LOVE IT.

Date: 2006-03-19 03:53 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sunshine-queen.livejournal.com
Aww, I'm sorry. I didn't get a tan and I don't even find the beach relaxing, if that helps.

And I love the new version. It's so fun.

Date: 2006-03-19 03:13 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] snapplesons.livejournal.com
Even my mom, who was a huge fan of the miniseries, loved it. Love, love.

Profile

sunshine_queen: Tricia being fierce, as always. (Default)
sunshine_queen

March 2020

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
2223 2425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags