sunshine_queen: Tricia being fierce, as always. (Gira- betrayed- overdrive_icons)
[personal profile] sunshine_queen
So, I saw Poseidon!



The movie was an hour and a half long, and fifteen minutes in, the boat got hit by the wave. And from that point on it was relentlessly, brutally intense. I felt so frantic and anxious the entire movie.

Mia was absolutely darling. And boy did she put her Alias training to good use. She was terrified the entire movie- claustrophobic, afraid of heights... and I can see how that might've irritated some people who inexplicably might not have fallen immediately desperately in love with Mia Maestro, but I just felt so badly for her, especially since she did persevere for so long. All the other girls had someone- Emmy Rossum had her dad and fiancée, and Jacinda Barrett had her OBNOXIOUS SON, but poor little orphan Mia was beloved by all, including Richard Dreyfuss and Josh Lucas.

There was a whole lot of human stories involved, moreso than I thought now than I think about it. And Mia had a lot to do, considering her horrible and untimely death. At least it wasn't crushing or firey. But her character- alone, not so much with the money, making some strategic alliance with some guy she met a club who promised she could bunk with him and effectively stowaway on the ship so she could get to NYC to see her little brother, who was in a hospital... and she was so brave at the beginning, and then she got nervous, and she was so cute, talking to God, and she did a lot, but not in an obnoxious way. At least, not to me. It just seemed so real to me, her reactions, because so often it's all, oh, everyone's so brave! And... she was, but not always.

But the most lasting impression of that film will always be Kurt Russell's death. I knew he was doomed pretty much immediately- he's the daddy, which all but screams sacrifice. And then it was either between Emmy's boyfriend or father, which is all Armageddon, and sure enough, Kurt Willised up and left while Emmy was having a hissy. And then he died saving the ones left, and we got to watch him drown. And not like, oh no, no more air, *dies*. No, it was, my lungs are exploding, let me convulsely inhale water. Repeatedly. It was so horrific to watch.

I really did like it, as far as disaster movies go. It was short and to the point and wow. Insane.

Date: 2006-05-13 04:32 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dollsome.livejournal.com
Poor Mia. They need to stop killing her!

Date: 2006-05-13 04:39 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sunshine-queen.livejournal.com
Honestly. Like, she's usually the most beautiful and talented of them all and everyone's like, too beautiful, *death.*

Date: 2006-05-14 01:47 pm (UTC)

Profile

sunshine_queen: Tricia being fierce, as always. (Default)
sunshine_queen

March 2020

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
2223 2425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags